Call for Nominations
2018 Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long-Term Impact

Deadline for nominations: 8 January 2018

EMAC members and IJRM Editorial Board Members are invited to submit nominations for the 2018 Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long-Term Impact.

This award is given annually to papers published in the International Journal of Research in Marketing (IJRM) that are judged to have made a long-term impact on the field of marketing. The award was established by IJRM and the European Marketing Academy (EMAC) in 2009.

For 2018, the IJRM editor (Roland T. Rust) has put together a committee to oversee the nomination and selection of the award. The committee is comprised of Michael Haenlein (ESCP Europe, France) (Chairperson), Tulin Erdem (New York University, USA), Iris Hung (Fudan University, China), and Ajay Kohli (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA).

The winning paper will be announced during the annual EMAC Conference in Glasgow, Scotland (29 May-1 June 2018).


All papers published in IJRM 10 to 15 years prior to the year the award is being presented are eligible. For the 2018 award, this means all papers published in the years 2003 through 2008 inclusive. Papers that have won this award and are published in this time frame are no longer eligible. Authors cannot nominate their own paper(s). Papers authored or co-authored by the current IJRM editor (Roland Rust) or by Jan-Benedict Steenkamp himself are not eligible.

List of eligible papers


The following criteria will guide the Award Committee in choosing the winning paper:

  1. The votes it receives from the IJRM Editorial Board (resulting from two rounds of voting)
  2. The paper’s ISI and Google Scholar citations
  3. The paper’s quality, as assessed by the award committee’s in-depth reading. 


Once nominations close on 8 January 2018, IJRM Board Members list their top five papers from among those nominated. From this voting, a list of the top 10 papers will be compiled. Then, in a second round of voting, IJRM Board Members will choose one of these 10 articles. The Award Committee will determine the final winner using the criteria above. You may request a copy of the full procedure from Cecilia Nalagon (


Submitting a nomination

Nominations can be submitted by current EMAC members and by IJRM Board members. Nominations should be emailed to between 1 December 2017 and 8 January 2018.

Please submit the title of the paper, authors, volume and issue number. Not more than five (5) nominations per person. Remember: Self-nominations will not be accepted. Please refer to the eligibility criteria above.

2018 Award Committee:

Michael Haenlein (ESCP Europe, France) (Chairperson)
Tulin Erdem (New York University, USA)
Iris Hung (Fudan University, China)
Ajay Kohli (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)


News / What’s coming up?

9th BMM-EMAC Biennial International Conference on Business Market Management
Berlin, Germany
June 27-29, 2019

Co-hosts: Frank Jacob, Wes Johnston, Michael Kleinaltenkamp, Olaf Plötner

Submission Deadline: February 15, 2019

More information & application:

3rd EMAC - Job Market workshop
Submission deadline: February 18, 2019 15:00 CET Time

More information and Submission link:



Job Market



Marketing PhD Jobs:

Job announcements available on the EMAC Jobmarket Website