IJRM-EMAC Steenkamp Award

 The International Journal of Research in Marketing (IJRM) and the European Marketing Academy (EMAC) established the IJRM long term impact award in 2009. Named “The Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long Term Impact,” the award is given annually to papers published in IJRM that are perceived to have made a long term impact on the field of marketing.

The award is named after Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp, currently Knox Massey Distinguished Professor of Marketing and Area Chair of Marketing at the Kenan-Flagler Business School of the University of North Carolina. Prof Steenkamp is the author of many high-impact IJRM publications, recipient of IJRM’s Best Paper Award, and former editor of IJRM and former EMAC Vice President of Publications. The notable and inspiring academic profile of Jan-Benedict Steenkamp lends prestige and honor to this award.

The Steenkamp award was created during the 2008 IJRM Board Meeting in Brighton, England. It was proposed and enthusiastically supported by the Editorial Board members. This long-term impact award is akin to those recently established by ACR, AMA and INFORMS, and it will be in addition to the EMAC-IJRM Best Paper
Award given out annually. Through this prestigious award, IJRM and EMAC aim to recognize exceptional contributions in academic marketing research, published in IJRM that have demonstrated long-term impact.



2017: Jorna Leenheer, Harald J. van Heerde, Tammo H.A. Bijmolt and Ale Smidts.

Paper: Do loyalty programs really enhance behavioral loyalty? An empirical analysis accounting for self-selecting members. IJRM, Volume 24(1), Pages 31-47

2016: Jeffrey S. Larson, Eric T. Bradlow, and Peter S. Fader,

Paper: An exploratory look at supermarket shopping paths. International Journal of Research in Marketing, Volume 22(4), pp 459-470.

2015: Utpal M. Dholakia, Richard P. Bagozzi, Lisa Klein Pearo (2004)

Paper: "A Social Influence Model of Consumer Participation in network- and Small-Group-Based Virtual Communities", IJRM, Volume 21(3), pp 241-263.

2014: Venkatesh Shankar, Amy K. Smith, Arvind Rangaswamy (2003)

Paper:  "Customer satisfaction and loyalty in online and offline environments", IJRM, Vol. 20 (2), 153-175

2013Rik Pieters, Luk Warlop (1999)

Paper: Visual attention during brand choice: The impact of time pressure and task motivation, IJRM Vol 16(1), pages 1-16.

2012: John R Rossiter (2002).

Paper: The COARSE procedure for scale development in marketing. Vol 19(4), pp.305-335.2010

2011:Alexandru M. Degeratu, Arvind Rangaswamy, Jianan Wu (2000)

Paper:  Competitive Consumer choice behavior in online and traditional supermarkets: The effects of brand name, price, and other search attributes. Vol 17(1), pp. 55-78.

2010Inge Geyskens, Jan-Benedict E. M. Steenkamp, Lisa K. Scheer, Nirmalya Kumar

Paper: The effects of trust and interdependence on relationship commitment: A trans-Atlantic study
International Journal of Research in Marketing, 13 (4), 303-317.

2009Peter S. H. Leeflang, Dick R. Wittink

Paper: Competitive reaction versus consumer response: Do managers overreact?,
IJRM 13 (2), 1996, pp. 103-119.

News / What’s coming up?

Notifications for the EMAC 2017 Regional Conference have been sent out on June 20, 2017. If you have not received it (check your junk mails), contact Anne-Laure Marteaux, EMAC Executive Secretary

Luk Warlop was appointed as President-Elect of the European Marketing Academy.

Luk Warlop (Phd U. of Florida 1995) is Professor of Marketing at the KU Leuven and at BI Norwegian Business School.  He has a long history of service to the EMAC community: as country representative for Belgium, as doctoral colloquium chair, and as consumer behavior track chair on several occasions. He co-chaired the annual EMAC conference both in 2015 (Leuven) and in 2016 (Oslo), and is currently senior editor for the International Journal of Research in Marketing.  He co-authored 27 ABS4/4* publications, in the International Journal of Research in Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Management Science, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychological Sicience, Journal of Accounting Research, among others.  He joins the EMAC steering committee as president-elect until the 2018 EMAC conference, and will serve a two year term as president from then onwards.

The Journal of Marketing Behavior  will publish a special issue on digital marketing and social media based on the relevant tracks of Digital Marketing and Social Media from the EMAC 2017 Annual Conference.

Submission Deadline: September 1, 2017

Call for papers


Job Market



Marketing PhD Jobs: http://marketingphdjobs.org

Job announcements available on the EMAC Jobmarket Website

  • Institution: Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
    Department: Marketing
    Position: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor
    Application Deadline: Jul 16, 2017
    Read more -  Email  - Website  
  • Institution: Strathclyde Business School
    Department: Marketing
    Position: Lecturer/Senior Lecturer
    Application Deadline: Aug 6, 2017
    Read more -  Email